Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Strong Island
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all-I am a soldier currently doing a tour of duty in Iraq. After this tour I'll have saved up enough scratch to pretty much do what I please. I already pre-ordered my '08 Night Rod Special and I'm considering packing it, my dog and a change of jeans and heading to Phoenix (I'm from Long Island) to attend the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute. I plan on taking the "Newer" Harley motor course with the emphasis on the V-Rod REVO.

Any thoughts on the school, housing, costs, tuition, whatever? Their website is pretty general and I'm looking for a little more flay-va...

·
Part-time mod
10,859 Posts
I know the VA will help pay for it and that MMI will help you find financing & housing (I think). It's a great idea! Give them a call and see what they can tell you directly!

·
Army spark jockey
3,091 Posts
Man that sounds cool, if I was more free in life I would do the same

·
Premium Member
10,801 Posts
First, Welcome to the forum. Second, thank you for your service. Stay safe!
On to the questions; MMI is a good school, and Kerri is right, the VA will help considerably. There will be gap between what the VA pays and MMI costs, so cost of living will play a huge part. The Florida campus is in a lower cost area, as Phoenix is very expensive. So, cheaper is better, for the same education. Sock away as much cash as possible, and tune up credit histories. You will probably have to borrow some money (student loans) to get through, but you are a safe investment. They will also help with placement, after you graduate. The other expense is tools. The Army will issue you all the tools you need, where, as a civilian, you own them, and the snap-on guy becomes like a drug dealer. Every week it will feel like you need another expensive thing, and soon you will be drooling over toolboxes that cost thousands of dollars. Budget at least 5K for a starter set of tools.