Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
RONZER....Iv'e switched over to it and very much satisfied....I found Amsoil at a local NAPPA store.......couple of bucks cheaper than H.D. Syn.

·
speeding safely
499 Posts
'Fantastic' 'Satisfied' ????

Sounds like this goop is getting rave reviews. So, what is the difference that you notice? What makes it 'fantastic'. I'm just a technical newbie here, but the regular harley oil in my engine seems to be working fine. I guess I just don't know what I'm missing? Perhaps I'm lucky, but my vrod shifts easily, runs smoothly, and doesn't seem to burn a drop of oil. I wouldn't mind a little less valve whine tho'.

Can you hear a difference in the engine?
Can you feel a difference?
More power?
Better fuel economy?
Longer duration between changes. (Amsoil's site recommends that you CAN extend the oil change interval, Harley Syn3 says 'no'.

·
speeding safely
499 Posts
I'm such a friggen' skeptic.

Yeah. OK, Amsoil has a smaller 'wear scar' in Amsoil's 4-ball test- but how does that apply to reality? In Amsoil's test- The Syn3 and the Screaming Eagle regular oil both have about the same 'wear scar' score. Does that mean that Syn3 is no better than regular? Or are their many other figures in the test that they're not reporting (like temperature?) that perhaps show no difference- or something poorer?

15 degrees sounds like a sigificant drop. I wonder what % of the heat in our engine is generated by friction, and what % is generated by burning fuel.

·
Riding the good life
4,908 Posts
Not exactly sure on the v-rod what the drop was for me w/AMSOIL, but on my air-cooled Sportster, it ran 210 on HD dinosaur oil and on AMSOIL it runs 150 - 160 depending on the heat of the day. When I run the Sportster hard, it would jump to 225 on HD Dino oil, and with AMSOIL would go to 210 -215.

Started running AMSOIL in the tranny, as Sportsters take a different lube than motor oil, and the shifting improved.