Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an Ontario resident intending to buy a bike in Quebec. The local Licence Bureau said I would pay the 5%(GST) at the dealer, and they would collect the 8%(ON PST) upon registering and plating the bike here. The dealer, however, wants to collect the 7.5% QC PST, and I have to try to be reimbursed, eventually, by the QC Gov't. The person at the Lic. Bur. said you may NEVER collect from the QC sales tax people. (Gee, a taxpayer getting screwed by a Govt. agency...how could THAT happen??)
Anyone know of an exemption I can claim?
I could refuse to pay, tell them its a deal breaker, but its a good deal and I want the damn bike.
Anyone been there, done that???
Appreciate any input, Harry

·
Registered
172 Posts
See if there is an exempt section for non residents. Also see if they can use Ontario transfer papers via courier. Is the Bike new? If it is, there should be a few options. Call other dealers in Quebec and see if you get the same story. Check with your own local office to see what they suggest. You have time, as it is winter in Canada:cool:

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the suggestions. The bike is a low mileage 2008 VRSCD. The Lic. Bur. person suggested they show "Delivery to Ontario" in the PST box on the invoice.This may involve extra paperwork for the dealer which they seem reluctant to do. I planned to trailer it home myself, ( its about 1 1/2 hrs away). I am reading thru the Sales Tax Statute in an attempt to find a reference to non-residents being exempt.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for that link...I had never heard of an "Export Sale"...that might work. Another Q&A on the site talks about the seller giving the purchaser the amount of the tax upfront and being repaid after the refund. Thats not likely to happen in my case.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·