Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a seemingly stupid question. I am new to the HD world and have spent some Time lately on gocarts and buggies for my 3 boys. I have taught myself to weld and fabricate over the last few months out of necessity when beefing up a gokart and the latest buggy.

I found an XG750 complete engine and decided I wanted to ditch the chinese crap GY6 in this KD buggy and put this HD small boy in its place. I knew the fab would be a challenge but that was before I could weld and I might be up to the task soon... so I started looking for the necessary parts and pieces to make this work.

My only experience is with tecumseh, and other small (mostly chinese) engines, like GY6s and Duromax, etc... and getting the CDI happy enough to run it, then I would custom build all of the other wiring for a custom dash, lights, radios, fuse boxes, relay boxes, and I am able to get pretty complicated systems hand built and finish it all off with a nice completely removable and fixable modular hand made wiring harness.

So naturally I started with the basics. This motor came with the intakes, and clutch/tranny, and the radiator (ugh right?) and hoses and so I began with getting a wiring harness off ebay, which had the fuse boxes and relays, then a regulator rectifier, starter relay and hand controls (just to fill the gaps in the harness) and a fuel pump and sub wiring harness. I grabbed an electrical troubleshooting book from HD and I bought an ECM and coil with plug wires...