Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Newbie here. I know the exhaust subject is not new and there is tons of info on the forum. I have read quite a few and got myself confused. Just when I think I have a solution, someone else shoots it down.

I will explain the problem and provide you with what I know and hopefully someone can provide me with the latest up to date info that works. I would be very grateful.

My nightrod is fitted with BUB jug huggers 2 in 2 (Chrome and in as new condition). They sound great, look great but are too loud. My neighbours (at least one) will not tolerate this. I thought that I could get some baffles which would solve the problem. BUB have confirmed that they DO NOT make baffles for the huggers for VRODS. !!

I do have a power commander fitted and the bike runs well. I put a sound meter near my pipes and I am pushing out 105 -110 DB at 4000 RPM. Some of my co-workers comment daily on the noise level. I am no Sheila but I would rather find a solution and keep the peace than tell all these blokes to shit in it and cause a civil war.

Anyway, I have spoken to HD and they suggested that I buy one of their power packs, secondly they have offered me a Screaming eagle system and a V&H Competition system to choose from.

The bike has done under 3,000 KM but the original owner did not keep his original system. HD has quoted some phenominal prices for the original headers, pipework, shields etc etc. to be ordered from the US.

Any suggestions as to be the best course of action?

1. Another after market (V&H or SE)? but will be just as noisy as the BUB's?

2. Bite the bullet and get the new OEM headers and pipework etc and play around with some slip ons? Which one's?

Well blokes, any info would be appreciated.

Cheers

Niko

·
Registered
1,489 Posts