Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Was hoping for any assistance from all you knowledgeable folks. Bought a 2002 with only 833 miles on it. Upon looking at it bike didn't start. Original owner changed gas out saying it was "bad" gas. After the change the bike worked fine for 2 days and has a brand new battery installed. Now the bike won't start. Lights come on ...Any suggestions on what to start checking would be greatly appreciated as I am a bike newbie.

From what I have read it could be the relay or the solenoid. Just wondering if it could be anything else. I believe the bike hasn't been riden much with only 833 miles.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,248 Posts
Hello all. Was hoping for any assistance from all you knowledgeable folks. Bought a 2002 with only 833 miles on it. Upon looking at it bike didn't start. Original owner changed gas out saying it was "bad" gas. After the change the bike worked fine for 2 days and has a brand new battery installed. Now the bike won't start. Lights come on ...Any suggestions on what to start checking would be greatly appreciated as I am a bike newbie.

From what I have read it could be the relay or the solenoid. Just wondering if it could be anything else. I believe the bike hasn't been riden much with only 833 miles.
I'll need a little more diagnostic info than "bike won't start".

One thing to do would be to read the trouble codes. This post explains how to read and clear codes for the early models. (Write the codes down as you read them and then clear these when you're finished reading.)

The battery should also be checked. New or old, a discharged battery won't be able to start the bike or even power the bikes critical modules:
ECM = electronic control module,
IM = instrument module, and
TSM or TSSM = turn signal module (no security) or turn signal/security module​
A fully charged battery voltage will be ≥ 12.7 V.