Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just bought a 08 night rod special and i was wondering if there was anything i should look for or any problems that are inherent of these bikes, i have never owned a bike before so this is all new to me, im a senior master tech for ford and i know certain cars have their certain problems, i just dont want anything happening with my bike, thanks

·
Registered
9 Posts
Welcome to the family, i have a 2007 nrs not much difference from the 08 model. A couple of issues are leakeage and or bubbling of fluid from the brake and clutch resevour in the handlebars.Also dont thrust the fuel gauge,go by trip meter. hope that helps.

·
Registered
422 Posts
Welcome to the forum...the search tool will provide you a lot of answers.
This is a great forum with incredibly knowledgeable people.

Do a once over on all your lines (electrical/fluid) to make sure nothing is sitting too close to heated areas. Didn't have this problem myself but have read a few that have.

·
Registered
114 Posts
The only thing inherent to all V Rods is the need to shell out bucks for modifications. Have fun....enjoy.

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
One thing that is common to what I'd assume all VRSCs is the hesitation around 3500 and 4k rpm. Not a bad thing, but that's just what it doooos. And.....concur on the earlier post about the fuel guage, may work fine, may suck. If it reads full and you know you need fuel. Turn the bike off and then turn it back on, that's what I do to get a better reading. Yeah, it works, don't ask me why.

·
Registered
78 Posts
08 nrs problems