VSS Sensor Help Diagnose not working - 1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum
» Sponsors
Go Back   1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum > V-ROD Discussions > V-ROD General
New User? Register - Forgot Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2013, 02:35 AM   #1
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
VSS Sensor Help Diagnose not working

Does anyone know how to test a VSS Vehicle speed sensor. Im not getting a reading at all for it on my power vision. Ive taped the wire 33 out of the ecu for my dash and the speed doesnt seem to work properly I suspect its got something to do with the fact I have a problem somewhere with the VSS.

PS no fault codes either
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2013, 06:16 AM   #2
stever975
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 6,248
Images: 31
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozracer View Post
Does anyone know how to test a VSS Vehicle speed sensor. Im not getting a reading at all for it on my power vision. Ive taped the wire 33 out of the ecu for my dash and the speed doesnt seem to work properly I suspect its got something to do with the fact I have a problem somewhere with the VSS.

PS no fault codes either
Have you read the Power Vision User Manual?

How can you tap a VSS signal and connect it to a Power vision? The Power Vision has no place to connect a VSS signal. Vehicle speed data is read off the digital data stream sent by the ECM (electronic control module). BTW, the ECU (electronic control module) on a Harley bike is part of the ABS system.

The Dynojet Power Vision receives engine data via the DATA LINK connector as mentioned on page 2-9 of Version 6 of the Dynojet "WinPV User Guide". Dynojet calls this the "diagnostic port".

Concerning the VSS sensor, if your speedometer is working then so is the VSS, especially if you have no DTCs set. There are some diagnostic tests for the VSS mentioned in the HD EDM (electrical diagnostic manual) which you should get if you plan to mess with the electrical components.
stever975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 07:49 AM   #3
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stever975 the vss is tapped to recieve the signal for the translogic dash only. As you said the powervision receives the signal from the digital stream but after the ecm has received the signal from the vss. The powervision has the ability to datalog the vss and it sits at 0.00 and doesnt move at all whilst the bike is in motion thus i suggest its not receiving the signal. Neither was the dash receiving a speed signal until late yesterday but it was bouncing all over the place and the powervision was still showing o.oo. I checked the connector plug with a test light and the sensor is getting power i just dont think its sending a signal to to ecm input through the blue black wire to pin 33 on the ecm. Im also getting a p0505 error which i think maybe related to the vss not sending a signal.
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-29-2013, 07:54 AM   #4
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ps the reason i was trying to get a reading on the vss on the powervision was so i can calibrate the speed on the translogic dash. It also has an earth wire on the translogic dash travelling with the sppedo pick up wire and a power wire but this is for use with an external speed sensor which runs off the back wheel. Im trying to use the oem vss for my speed sensor so i ran the earth or ground wire tapped into the ground on the fuel pump connector. I have left the power un connected for the translogic loom as it doesnt need to power a sensor. Stever i appreciate any feedback that helps i know you are extremely knowlegable with electrics.
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 07:56 AM   #5
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Someone has suggested removing the vss and cleaning it which i will try but im wondering if ihave a faulty vss?
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 09:09 AM   #6
stever975
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 6,248
Images: 31
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozracer View Post
Stever975 the vss is tapped to recieve the signal for the translogic dash only. As you said the powervision receives the signal from the digital stream but after the ecm has received the signal from the vss. The powervision has the ability to datalog the vss and it sits at 0.00 and doesnt move at all whilst the bike is in motion thus i suggest its not receiving the signal. Neither was the dash receiving a speed signal until late yesterday but it was bouncing all over the place and the powervision was still showing o.oo. I checked the connector plug with a test light and the sensor is getting power i just dont think its sending a signal to to ecm input through the blue black wire to pin 33 on the ecm. Im also getting a p0505 error which i think maybe related to the vss not sending a signal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozracer View Post
Ps the reason i was trying to get a reading on the vss on the powervision was so i can calibrate the speed on the translogic dash. It also has an earth wire on the translogic dash travelling with the sppedo pick up wire and a power wire but this is for use with an external speed sensor which runs off the back wheel. Im trying to use the oem vss for my speed sensor so i ran the earth or ground wire tapped into the ground on the fuel pump connector. I have left the power un connected for the translogic loom as it doesnt need to power a sensor. Stever i appreciate any feedback that helps i know you are extremely knowlegable with electrics.
Your original message didn't mention the P0505 DTC or specifically mention that you were using an aftermarket speedometer.

Regardless, a VSS malfunction would normally set P0501 or P0502, not P0505. However, if the VSS signal is interpreted as a vehicle speed of zero then the IAC will attempt to control idle whenever the TPS signal is < 1%. This loss of VSS speed pulse could trigger a P0505 code if you are down shifting with a closed throttle for more than 5 seconds.

I'd suggest the following:
Check for continuity from the sensor "A" connection to ECM pin #14 (BK/R wire at sensor, R/W wire at ECM)
Check for continuity from sensor "B" connection to ECM pin #33 on the BK/BE wire
Check for continuity from the sensor "C" connection to ECM pin #10 on the BK/GN wire
Remove the VSS and check for magnetic particles on the sensor
stever975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 09:16 AM   #7
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Will do thanks for that stever actually thats exactly when it stalls when i pull the clutch in and coast for a couple of seconds that makes sense then its probably being triggered as a result of no signal from the vss. It doesnt trigger straight away when i start the bike but as soon as i go out my driveway and coast down the hill to turn a corner i have the clutch pulled in and no throttle and the bike will stall i suspect this is when the code triggers.
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 03:47 AM   #8
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay I have checked continuity of all 3 sensor locations above and I appear to have continuity on all three wires. Im new at this but when I have an open circuit my multimeter is at 1. and when circuits are connected I get 0.00. So I suggest I have no broken wires or issues with the wires themselves.

I will move onto the sensor removal next and see if it is dirty. Anyone know how I can actually test the sensor itself while i have it out and cleaning it....

PS Test was conducted with no battery in the bike I presume this is not an issue.
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:15 AM   #9
Jan-Dirk
Autobanmod
 
Jan-Dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 9,815
Images: 367
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The VSS is a 5 VDC pulsed Signal (2,050 pulses per second (at maximum speed of 140 mph) with 30T pulley), check this post and others of that thread.
Back in 2004 I used a signal converter for using speedometer to indicate AFR while riding, lol!
It worked but I should have used a wideband probe
Anyhow, here's the link to the good old times:
https://www.1130cc.com/forums/showpos...1&postcount=28
__________________
Hog of Steel
Jan-Dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 03:07 AM   #10
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well it appears continuity is good and the sensor wasnt dirty so Im still at a loss as to why I am not getting a VSS signal on my Powervision, my dash is displaying erratic speed numbers or no speed at all and Im triggering a P0505. Can I test this VSS somehow whilst its out of the bike to see if the sensor is broken or faulty?
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 03:39 AM   #11
Jan-Dirk
Autobanmod
 
Jan-Dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 9,815
Images: 367
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Hold the sensor in your Hand and wiggle across a magnetic surface (black steel/iron - i.e. a hammer head), the sensor output should flip between 0 V and 5 VDC.
Very simple to test.
__________________
Hog of Steel
Jan-Dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 03:49 AM   #12
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
with a probe on what pin the black red power presumably 5v circuit? What I mean is how do I connect the multimeter sorry for the dumb question.
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:25 AM   #13
stever975
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 6,248
Images: 31
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozracer View Post
with a probe on what pin the black red power presumably 5v circuit? What I mean is how do I connect the multimeter sorry for the dumb question.
Sensor pin "A": connect to +5 VDC source
Sensor pin "B": connect to multimeter "+ VDC"
Sensor pin "C": connect to -5 VDC source and multimeter "- VDC"
stever975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:31 AM   #14
Jan-Dirk
Autobanmod
 
Jan-Dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 9,815
Images: 367
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
here
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EFI system.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	197.4 KB
ID:	275841  
__________________
Hog of Steel
Jan-Dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:43 AM   #15
Ozracer
Night Rod Muscle
 
Ozracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,225
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stever and jan thanks i will plug the sensor into the bike but leave it out of the engine and turn bike to ignition should get 5v from there and measure as steve says above with a multimeter. Will let you know how i go.
__________________
2011 Night Rod Muscle
Build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ozracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum strong>Kawasaki Z125 Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Honda Africa Twin Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum Ducati 959 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Victory Charger Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum
BMW Scrambler Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum