Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

Leak Down Testing?

7K views 20 replies 12 participants last post by  Philthy 
#1 ·
I've just been given a leak down testing kit & I've never used one before.:confused:

Does any one know how much air pressure I should apply? I was thinking around 20psi, is this enough?

Thanks Guy's.:vrod:

#2 ·
Paul I usually use 100psi or just line pressure. After all we know the rings are going to leak and all your looking for is the time they leak. I take a time reading between cylinders to compare. If I find one cylinder that leaks much faster it will usually have lower compression doing a regular test. I also remove the dipstick (oil fill) itself, hate to blow seals out of the engine if it can't vent fast enough.

#3 ·
Max, I have done this test, but have never fully understood it. Does this test show you that valves are seating more than ring issues. Because don't many compression and oil rings expand upon detination actually sealing the cylinder better. I just didn't know what this test really told you over a compression test?

#5 ·
Ray the leakdown test has some big advantages. If you use pressurized air in the 90-100psi range the engine is not turning so you can hear were the air is escaping. So you know if it's rings or valves. You can also remove the radiator cap and check for bubbles in the cooling system to check the heads which a standard compression test cannot do. I think there are different leak down gauges as well that determine differently the flow. Mine is one from kentmoore (alias cost more) and you leave the air on all the time and it gives a reading of air being lost. Then you can open the throttle bores and listen for air and go to the tail pipe and listen for air as well. You can also listen to the crankcase and feel the air being lost on some engines.

#6 ·