V Rod Oil Pressure Gauge Install - 1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum > V-ROD Discussions > V-ROD General
New User? Register - Forgot Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2007, 03:02 PM   #1
Randy
Registered Full
 
Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wherever I have to fly to for work
Posts: 51
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
V Rod Oil Pressure Gauge Install

Has Anyone Installed A Mechanical Oil Press Gauge?
I Would Like The Low Down On A Parts List.
Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2007, 07:58 PM   #2
o2man98
The 1402 Originator
 
o2man98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 7,697
Images: 67
Feedback Score: 106 reviews
I am in the planning stage "still". I was going to try and use a electric gauge as I do not like to risk a leak in the line. If members here would like a mechanical gauge I will work on that. It would make my job easier.

The problem with the install on the V-Rod is the current pressure switch is a beast to get at. I am working on another route that will be much easier.

If anybody has suggestions on where to mount the gauge I would appreciate the insight. Electric gauges would be minimum 2 1/16" while the mechanical could be 1 1/2".
__________________
Independent AMSOIL Premier Direct Jobber www.modernoils.com
Click for FREE AMSOIL CATALOG
-E-mail me at ken@modernoils.com
Call me at 920-860-0116 for ordering. Best times will be after 5pm weekdays or anytime weekends.
Contact me directly for forum member pricing as Authorized Dealers are not allowed to advertise discounted rates publicly.
Get DEALER COST immediately on your first order by following these instructions. Purchase at dealer cost.
o2man98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 09:16 AM   #3
nic_a_bod
"A" is the only way
 
nic_a_bod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: s.w. wi
Posts: 3,349
Images: 134
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
I bought a mechanical one yesterday, the electronic one I was looking at was really bulky and it looked like it had a huge piece that had to tap in somewhere to get the reading anyways and send it via wire to the gauge. So my questions is where is the best place to tap into to get a good reading that will show problems if they should happen?
nic_a_bod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 09:28 AM   #4
Max
Color me Gone
 
Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Plano Texas
Posts: 27,333
Images: 2545
Feedback Score: 66 reviews
Nic the stock location is just behind the left side of the front head in the top of the block. It is hidden by the cam chain housing. I would think that is a good place to monitor pressure but there may be others as well.
__________________
R.I.P. My dearest Jeannie, you are in my heart always.

The road of life sometimes seems full of potholes. RIP Jeannie, Alex and Brian. I'll never forget any of you.
Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 10:01 AM   #5
Jan-Dirk
Autobanmod
 
Jan-Dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 8,833
Images: 352
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine is tapped to the oil line from oil filter outlet to engine.
I can post a picture tomorrow.
And thanks a thousand times for sending me this pm, I found your thread about the water pump intermediate shaft and VRTURK's reply.

In my case the oil pressure gauge did indeed safe the engine from severe damage, it's definitely a MUST HAVE.
Jan-Dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 12:00 PM   #6
Elgavilan
The Hawk
 
Elgavilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,389
Images: 21
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
I took my unused boost gauge and converted it into an electric oil pressure gauge. Run it off the stock location between the heads and just stick the small square digital readout unit onto the handle bar behind the brake master cylinder. Works well.

Mike
__________________
It's not how fast you go, it's how fast you get there!
Elgavilan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 01:13 PM   #7
nic_a_bod
"A" is the only way
 
nic_a_bod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: s.w. wi
Posts: 3,349
Images: 134
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max
Nic the stock location is just behind the left side of the front head in the top of the block. It is hidden by the cam chain housing. I would think that is a good place to monitor pressure but there may be others as well.
yeah that's what I kind of figured after I got looking in the manual for the pressure switch. That's where I'm going to put the t at to run the line to the gauge, it's going to be a tight fit tryin to put the plumbing in for it but it should work. The electronic one diffently wouldn't of worked, but also it was a cheap one at 20 bucks so maybe if I found a more $$$ one the part that reads the pressure might be smaller and would fit in there. I just got thinkin about the switch that is there now what kind of output does that have, is just an on off switch or does it put out a reading the computer looks at? Cuz it would be simple to run some wires from it to an electrical gauge depending on the output, (guessing from elgavilan's the switch does put out a pressure reading?)
nic_a_bod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 01:23 PM   #8
Red-Rod
Lifetime Premium
 
Red-Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SFL
Posts: 1,513
Images: 103
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elgavilan
I took my unused boost gauge and converted it into an electric oil pressure gauge. Run it off the stock location between the heads and just stick the small square digital readout unit onto the handle bar behind the brake master cylinder. Works well.

Mike
Do you have any pictures of your set up?
__________________
Joe

Winner of the Key West Fantasy Fest Biggest VROD Competition.
Life time member of the Florida Drunk Drivers Association
2005 Quickest Stock VROD ¼ Mile
First Place Winner of the Kelly’s Pub Beer Recycling Contest
Red-Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:50 AM   #9
DallasV Rod
Dallas V Rod
 
DallasV Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,107
Images: 16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, lets see some pics!
DallasV Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 12:38 PM   #10
Jan-Dirk
Autobanmod
 
Jan-Dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 8,833
Images: 352
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The fitting is attached to the engine oil inlet coming from the oil cooler.
I think the english description for bolt is BANJO BOLT
It's according German DIN7643 "Hohlschraube"

They simply drilled a new hole into the old bolt head and cut the thread by hand for next suitable smaller banjo bolt to fit in.

I believe that "Parker" would be a suitable supplier for the US, check this link. http://www.parker.com/search/search....IN+7643&stt=AS
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN4492.JPG
Views:	210
Size:	393.4 KB
ID:	75268   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN4493.JPG
Views:	198
Size:	419.4 KB
ID:	75269   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oil gauge fitting location.JPG
Views:	256
Size:	303.6 KB
ID:	75272  
Jan-Dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 01:01 PM   #11
Jan-Dirk
Autobanmod
 
Jan-Dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 8,833
Images: 352
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The OEM location for the oil pressure switch (see Max post above) might technically be more suitable, we chose the engine oil inlet bore because it's easy to access.
Jan-Dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 01:09 PM   #12
rc4man
EXCELSIOR
 
rc4man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Out there
Posts: 7,288
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Clever Jan-Dirk
__________________
"V" Rod Forman, '04 Anodized "B", 50th B-day gift from wife. http://www.mem.com/Story.aspx?ID=2528706
rc4man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:51 PM   #13
DPierce02
Banned
 
DPierce02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Western, NY
Posts: 654
Images: 55
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
this probably wont help most of you because i put mine in the fairing. i wanted to put in an electric gage but couldn't find a suitable tee that would allow the use of an electric sender and still use the idiot light sender.

i tried a dual sender that had a contact for the idiot light but the sender was to large to fit in the area between the cylinders.

see pics for what i used. i have also attached a pic i got from a turbo install that i think would work for an oil pressure gage but i didn't want to tap my filter housing. Max may be able to confirm if this is the same pressure as the sender tap.

hopes this helps

Dennis
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vrod oil press tap_1.jpg
Views:	246
Size:	163.0 KB
ID:	75308   Click image for larger version

Name:	vrod oil press tap_2.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	75309   Click image for larger version

Name:	vrod oil press tap_3.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	75310   Click image for larger version

Name:	vrod oil press tap_4.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	75311   Click image for larger version

Name:	vrod oil press tee_1.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	111.4 KB
ID:	75312  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Turbo oil pressure tap.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	1.26 MB
ID:	75313  
DPierce02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 11:08 PM   #14
o2man98
The 1402 Originator
 
o2man98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 7,697
Images: 67
Feedback Score: 106 reviews
Dennis,

The filter mount is the position I was most recently considering.

I am just not sure that it is worth the effort to put these kits together. I have the parts but not sure where to mount the gauge. I want the electric gauge as I do not the leak risk of mechanical gauges. Do downside of the electrics is the price.

How much would everyone be willing to pay for an electric gauge kit?

Where would everyone like to see a gauge mounted? Think 2 1/16" Autometer for quality.
__________________
Independent AMSOIL Premier Direct Jobber www.modernoils.com
Click for FREE AMSOIL CATALOG
-E-mail me at ken@modernoils.com
Call me at 920-860-0116 for ordering. Best times will be after 5pm weekdays or anytime weekends.
Contact me directly for forum member pricing as Authorized Dealers are not allowed to advertise discounted rates publicly.
Get DEALER COST immediately on your first order by following these instructions. Purchase at dealer cost.
o2man98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 11:17 PM   #15
DPierce02
Banned
 
DPierce02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Western, NY
Posts: 654
Images: 55
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by o2man98
Dennis,

The filter mount is the position I was most recently considering.

I am just not sure that it is worth the effort to put these kits together. I have the parts but not sure where to mount the gauge. I want the electric gauge as I do not the leak risk of mechanical gauges. Do downside of the electrics is the price.

How much would everyone be willing to pay for an electric gauge kit?

Where would everyone like to see a gauge mounted? Think 2 1/16" Autometer for quality.
Ken you have probably have seen it but a guy on ebay is selling a temp and oil pressure gage kit. http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Harle...QQcmdZViewItem

not sure if the oil pressure is electric or mechanical dosent say.

Dennis
DPierce02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum