Is the Intake Temp Sensor okay to be not installed? - 1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum
» Sponsors
Go Back   1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum > V-ROD Discussions > V-ROD General
New User? Register - Forgot Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2017, 11:42 PM   #1
storx
Registered Full
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 65
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is the Intake Temp Sensor okay to be not installed?

So today i spent the day replacing all the brake fluid in the bike, then changed the oil with Mobile 1 20w50, then when i went to check the air box, i found that it had already been "de-lidded" already with the cover completely missing along with the intake air sensor just dangling in the breeze... is this ok?
storx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2017, 01:57 AM   #2
Knut J
VRSC est -03
 
Knut J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arctic Circle, Norway
Posts: 1,404
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Short answer: yes. Place it above the battery for fresh air..
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
WILL RACE FOR FOOD!
Knut J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 02:53 AM   #3
TwinOaks
Registered Full
 
TwinOaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Charming
Posts: 2,999
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
NO. Moved, yes, but not a good idea to remove it completely.
__________________
.
.
See manuals, buy manuals, read manuals.
TwinOaks is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-19-2017, 07:10 AM   #4
Elgavilan
The Hawk
 
Elgavilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,529
Images: 21
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
The sensor needs to be plugged into the wiring connector. Where you place it after that is up to you, some guys think it works best plugged into a hole they drill on the air cleaner cover. Some guys like it plugged into a hole drilled into the lower airbox cover and some just zip tie it so it hangs in the airbox cover near the air cleaner. The bike will run with the sensor removed but it will run way rich.

Mike
__________________
It's not how fast you go, it's how fast you get there!
Elgavilan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 08:03 AM   #5
mikeinatlanta
The Massive Pr1ck
 
mikeinatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: tyrone ga
Posts: 2,072
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So far you are getting some good info here and some not so good. Your ECU will alter AF ratios based on temps of intake air. Obviously if you want your motor to adjust tune for air temp you need the sensor installed. If you want it to do the job well you need the sensor as close as practical to the actual air going into your throttle bodies. Locating it to read "fresh" air is not conducive to having an accurate reading and not a good idea because that is not necessarily what your engine is breathing at any particular moment. Minus having an airbox to read from the next best is mounted to the air filter lid, which is what about 95% of folks here do and 100% of those doing the job correctly.
mikeinatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 03:33 PM   #6
Knut J
VRSC est -03
 
Knut J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arctic Circle, Norway
Posts: 1,404
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I stand correct.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2954.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	655.3 KB
ID:	500049  
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
WILL RACE FOR FOOD!
Knut J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 08:11 AM   #7
Elgavilan
The Hawk
 
Elgavilan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,529
Images: 21
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
Agree, you are getting some misleading info, the ECM adjusts temperature related parameters on a 16 degree temp swing. In other words, the temp has to change 16 degrees before the ECM makes an adjustment. Locating the IAT within the lower air box and within 2 to 4" of the air cleaner is measuring the same air as that pulled through the air cleaner. That is how the factory does it when they locate it in the front panel of the airbox.
__________________
It's not how fast you go, it's how fast you get there!
Elgavilan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum strong>Kawasaki Z125 Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Honda Africa Twin Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum Ducati 959 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Victory Charger Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum
BMW Scrambler Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum