Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

2012 VRSCDX questions, rear seat removal, saddlebags and more.

11K views 49 replies 23 participants last post by  Invictus-Vrod 
#1 ·
Hi there, I am new to harley which makes me new to V-Rod. I have a 2012 Nightrod special and am ready to start playing.. hehe.. but need some help. I am familiar with forums so I found a good one and am now looking to the community for some help. So first and foremost, HOW IN THE HELL DOES THE REAR SEAT COME OFF LOL. I must have spent the better part of 8 hours googling, and looking at bike and I am at a loss. Also as far as aftermarket saddlebags what do you all suggest? I have a set I picked up I think I like.. just cant get them on right. And I love the Harley ones but $700 OUCH.

TIA

#3 ·
you should buy a manual!!!:soapbox:

open the seat, like when you fuel it up.

remove the seat tether, note the bolt head next to it.

now remove the bolt (10mm socket)

now remove the spike ( I don't know the technical name ) 13mm socket or spanner.

then slide the seat and the plastic you just unbolted forward. the seat and the plastic is one piece. the strap stays behind.

#4 ·
Lol i have the owners manual but no where does it say how to do that. Where can i get one that would. And i thought they were but don't wanna go wrecking my new bike. Truly appreciate it though.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Motorcycle.com App

#7 ·
Another one does anyone have saddlebags on their Night Rod? These arent something I will use all the time but in certain situations will be handy.. as I live in ohio and it can go from 70 and sunny to 25 and snow in a matter of seconds lol. Looking for suggestions or maybe options other than harleys

#8 ·
I don't have saddle bags(I just couldn't do that to my NRS no matter how handy they are to have :D )