adding switch for arnott air ride - 1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum > V-ROD Discussions > V-ROD General
New User? Register - Forgot Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 11:55 PM   #1
thetryal
F2NV
 
thetryal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Statesville NC
Posts: 1,476
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
adding switch for arnott air ride

I was looking for a better mounting option for my arnott shocks switch. I was wondering if it it possible to use a switch housing from say, a touring harley like a electraglide and rewire the radio toggle switch on the left housing.

My thought was to use this toggle switch to raise and lower the shocks. I think it would look very stealthy.

I was just wondering if the switch housing would fit the bar. Then it is a matter of buying the switch and rewiring it. You could just use the left housing that is bigger than the standard vrod or wire another toggle to the touring type right side switch housing.

Any thoughts on doing this??

I've got a muscle if it makes a difference.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	chrome switch housing.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	193053  
__________________
09 Sunglo Muscle.
Vance & Hines slips
PCV & autotune
K&N filter
Topless ( . ) ( . )
26t Fitzgerald sprocket
260 Metzeler
Chrome Arnotts
Hanny risers
CCS-100 cruise control
thetryal is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2012, 08:24 AM   #2
crazy2sin
RIP Nigel & KAK
 
crazy2sin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maple Shade, NJ
Posts: 902
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I might try rewire
__________________
2009 Night Rod - 11.56@116(bone stock)
Topless, V&H comp 2-1, K&N, PCIII, Tuned
11.22@118
2013 Vivid Black Street Glide.
crazy2sin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 11:19 PM   #3
megaduty
Registered Full
 
megaduty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 25
Images: 2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Arnott makes a slick 2 button switch that mounts to your lower left handle bar assembly and connects with easy instructions to your kit.
megaduty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 11:52 PM   #4
thetryal
F2NV
 
thetryal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Statesville NC
Posts: 1,476
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Re: adding switch for arnott air ride

Quote:
Originally Posted by megaduty View Post
Arnott makes a slick 2 button switch that mounts to your lower left handle bar assembly and connects with easy instructions to your kit.
I have the switch, it works but, it's hard to reach while also holding the clutch and it doesn't look totally stock.

sent from my phone, expect bad grammer and typos.
__________________
09 Sunglo Muscle.
Vance & Hines slips
PCV & autotune
K&N filter
Topless ( . ) ( . )
26t Fitzgerald sprocket
260 Metzeler
Chrome Arnotts
Hanny risers
CCS-100 cruise control
thetryal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:15 AM   #5
phobby
Registered Full
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: virginia beach
Posts: 314
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
adding switch for arnott air ride

Somebody makes one that replaced the clutch mounting bracket you use to tighten up the clutch onto the handle bar.


Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
phobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:01 AM   #6
thetryal
F2NV
 
thetryal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Statesville NC
Posts: 1,476
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Re: adding switch for arnott air ride

Quote:
Originally Posted by phobby View Post
Somebody makes one that replaced the clutch mounting bracket you use to tighten up the clutch onto the handle bar.


Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Hmmm, that could be interesting. Do you have link ?

sent from my phone, expect bad grammer and typos.
__________________
09 Sunglo Muscle.
Vance & Hines slips
PCV & autotune
K&N filter
Topless ( . ) ( . )
26t Fitzgerald sprocket
260 Metzeler
Chrome Arnotts
Hanny risers
CCS-100 cruise control
thetryal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:15 PM   #7
ZZ-ROD
PEPE
 
ZZ-ROD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 580
Images: 16
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Or you could go wireless:

__________________
VENI VIDI VICI
08 VRSCDX/F CARBON FIBER
ZZ-ROD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:14 PM   #8
thetryal
F2NV
 
thetryal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Statesville NC
Posts: 1,476
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZ-ROD View Post
phobby sells a remote ssytem like this but he also adds remote start and other options:

http://www.1130cc.com/forums/showthr...599&highlight=
__________________
09 Sunglo Muscle.
Vance & Hines slips
PCV & autotune
K&N filter
Topless ( . ) ( . )
26t Fitzgerald sprocket
260 Metzeler
Chrome Arnotts
Hanny risers
CCS-100 cruise control
thetryal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 01:21 AM   #9
bristyle
Registered Full
 
bristyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vicksburg Ms
Posts: 33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetryal View Post
I was looking for a better mounting option for my arnott shocks switch. I was wondering if it it possible to use a switch housing from say, a touring harley like a electraglide and rewire the radio toggle switch on the left housing.

My thought was to use this toggle switch to raise and lower the shocks. I think it would look very stealthy.

I was just wondering if the switch housing would fit the bar. Then it is a matter of buying the switch and rewiring it. You could just use the left housing that is bigger than the standard vrod or wire another toggle to the touring type right side switch housing.

Any thoughts on doing this??

I've got a muscle if it makes a difference.
thetryal..i was wondering the same thing about where to place a switch.then one night i seen the frist post you made of this..got me to thinking lol..so i fond the same handle bar switch houseing in black on ebay .i used the left side.the lower hole had to be dremeled out to fit the swtch..and yes it works great !!i dont have pictures yet i work out shore and it will be a few weeks till i get home ..this is the mini switch i used..
Amazon Amazon
bristyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:44 PM   #10
bristyle
Registered Full
 
bristyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vicksburg Ms
Posts: 33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
here are some mock up pics their not very good.someone took them for me lol.and shes a lil dirty cuz she under construction lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	switch 1.JPG
Views:	51
Size:	775.2 KB
ID:	205297   Click image for larger version

Name:	switch 2.JPG
Views:	50
Size:	811.6 KB
ID:	205305   Click image for larger version

Name:	switch.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	369.8 KB
ID:	205313  
bristyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:09 PM   #11
thetryal
F2NV
 
thetryal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Statesville NC
Posts: 1,476
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Re: adding switch for arnott air ride

Bristyle, looks great. Nice to know it can be done.

Does out have enough clearance when you turn the bars and not hit the tank?

sent from my phone, expect bad grammer and typos.
__________________
09 Sunglo Muscle.
Vance & Hines slips
PCV & autotune
K&N filter
Topless ( . ) ( . )
26t Fitzgerald sprocket
260 Metzeler
Chrome Arnotts
Hanny risers
CCS-100 cruise control
thetryal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:15 PM   #12
pwrman
Registered Idiot
 
pwrman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 5,409
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
My only concern about the radio switch is that it is likely electronic rather than electric. Meaning it is designed to pass a digital signal rather than 12v. I would be concerned that it may not be able to handle the amp draw. If you ran lower voltage through it and added a relay it may work.
pwrman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:21 PM   #13
thetryal
F2NV
 
thetryal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Statesville NC
Posts: 1,476
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Re: adding switch for arnott air ride

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwrman View Post
My only concern about the radio switch is that it is likely electronic rather than electric. Meaning it is designed to pass a digital signal rather than 12v. I would be concerned that it may not be able to handle the amp draw. If you ran lower voltage through it and added a relay it may work.
It looks like bristyle used a mini toggle wired directly to the compressor.

sent from my phone, expect bad grammer and typos.
__________________
09 Sunglo Muscle.
Vance & Hines slips
PCV & autotune
K&N filter
Topless ( . ) ( . )
26t Fitzgerald sprocket
260 Metzeler
Chrome Arnotts
Hanny risers
CCS-100 cruise control
thetryal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:13 PM   #14
bristyle
Registered Full
 
bristyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vicksburg Ms
Posts: 33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no prob clearing the air cover...i ran 3 wires to the switch 1..is a hot 2..goes to a relay for the comp 3..goes to a dump valve..this is the mini switch
Amazon Amazon
bristyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:59 PM   #15
thetryal
F2NV
 
thetryal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Statesville NC
Posts: 1,476
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Re: adding switch for arnott air ride

I guessing you've had done saddle time with the switch.

any update, reviews, etc?

sent from my phone, expect bad grammer and typos.
__________________
09 Sunglo Muscle.
Vance & Hines slips
PCV & autotune
K&N filter
Topless ( . ) ( . )
26t Fitzgerald sprocket
260 Metzeler
Chrome Arnotts
Hanny risers
CCS-100 cruise control
thetryal is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum