Splitting the tacho signal - 1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum
» Insurance
» Sponsors
Go Back   1130cc.com: The #1 Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum > V-ROD Discussions > V-ROD Technical
New User? Register - Forgot Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 04:57 AM   #1
nitroslick
Registered Full
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: lancs uk
Posts: 179
Images: 4
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Splitting the tacho signal

Wondered if any one with electrical experience knows how to split the tacho signal wire to two devices .
I have a larger tacho on my bike and also a dynatek shift light ,i can get them both to work by using seperate sources but it would make things neater if they both ran off the tacho signal wire from the ecm .
Any ideas apreciated ,i did try the dynatek tach adapter part 101 but it didnt help.
nitroslick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2012, 10:26 AM   #2
Shaggyhou
Registered Full
 
Shaggyhou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,037
Images: 14
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
This is my understanding of how the factory tachometer works...

The factory tachometer on our bikes is not an actual tachometer it is just a stepper motor that gets told by the ECM (via the canbus protocol) where to point (it is not a pulse counter) .... the tach signal pin on our ECM is a regular analogue 2 pulse per revolution signal that aftermarket tachs and shift lights recognize internal to the tachometer. So long story short your not going to be able to tie the two together because teh factory tach is expecting a digital signal (Canbus) and the aftermarket tachs are expecting an analogue signal (X number of pulses per revolution)

That being said you can split your analogue tach signal just tie both the aftermarket tach and shift light to the same signal wire.... I am actually running three rpm based devices of my single tach signal (pin 3) currently
__________________
2009 Sedona orange, VRSCAW,

Chrome Arnotts(Talk to 02man for purchasing at best price),
Ricor 49 MM Intiminator,
Super Brace,
Engineering Artisan Forearms,
"F" wheels,
"F" Exhaust,
Chrome O-ring Footpegs and Shifter,
Sundowner Seat (Rider and Pillion)
and seat baseplate with the Smooth backrest installed.
Shaggyhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:32 AM   #3
nitroslick
Registered Full
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: lancs uk
Posts: 179
Images: 4
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
thanks for replying

Thanks for replying ,i will just have to go with plan b by tapping into the coil signal wires then ,use the ecm pin for the tacho which i already have done and the shift minder on the coils
Could have used an autometer tacho/shift light combined but it was just too big at 5 inch dia
nitroslick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:39 PM   #4
Shaggyhou
Registered Full
 
Shaggyhou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,037
Images: 14
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
You should be able to run both off of the Tach pin, I am doing that now. I have 2 shift lights and a tach all being driven by the ECM pin currently.
__________________
2009 Sedona orange, VRSCAW,

Chrome Arnotts(Talk to 02man for purchasing at best price),
Ricor 49 MM Intiminator,
Super Brace,
Engineering Artisan Forearms,
"F" wheels,
"F" Exhaust,
Chrome O-ring Footpegs and Shifter,
Sundowner Seat (Rider and Pillion)
and seat baseplate with the Smooth backrest installed.
Shaggyhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:48 PM   #5
nitroslick
Registered Full
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: lancs uk
Posts: 179
Images: 4
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
i did try that by connecting my dynatec shift minder with shift light and a 3 3/4 autometer tacho ,the shift minder powered up but woulnt light at any rpm .
Today i connected it to the coil signal wires using the adapter and it works fine .also tried the tacho adapter off the pin 3 wire but still nno joy.
nitroslick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum